Troup Names Teacher of the Year

Our school system is in pushing ahead towards those long awaited summer months, with spring break just around the corner. However, it is so important to pay honor to our teachers for the incredible work that they do with their students all year long. That is exactly what happened in a special ceremony this past Wednesday night, March 15 at the Annual Teacher of the Year Awards. After narrowing down the field from 25 nominees to three finalists, Kayla Yeargin of Troup High School was selected as the 2017-18 Troup County Teacher of the Year. Yeargin, along with Mike (Michal) Bush from Hollis Hand Elementary and Marie Curtis from Callaway Middle School, were named the three finalists for this year’s Teacher of the Year Award.

After the announcement, many of the teachers from Troup ran out with thunderous applause, sporting party hats and a signs to congratulate Kayla. Yeargin spoke to those in attendance, saying how proud she was of this award. She thanked her family and friends, especially her math department coworkers that were there to support her. She also stated that her school wants to take their slogan of “believe in THS” and make it into “believe in Troup County Schools.”

Before Yeargin was announced as the winner, however, last year’s winner, Jill Gay, got a chance to speak on how the award had affected her life over the past year and of how important it is to get to work with all of the children that pass through her classroom. Likening them to works of art, she said that she is proud to be able to work with each and every one of them before sending them on to their next journey in the academic world.

Their field was very big this year for the Teacher of the Year nominees, with one teacher selected from each elementary school and two selected from each middle and high school. Each nominee was recognized at the evening’s event and was given the chance to shake the hands of the school board members. This is such a great event each year to truly tell our teachers thank you for helping serve here in Troup County.

The following is a list of all the teachers that were nominated for Teacher of the Year: Berta Weathersbee Elementary School: Deaundria Lawton, Callaway Elementary School: Kimberlee Patton, Ethel W. Kight Elementary School: Sara Proctor, Franklin Forest Elementary School: Willis Blakely, Hillcrest Elementary School: Lindsay Summerlin, Hogansville Elementary School: Celeste Garrett,

Hollis Hand Elementary School: Mike (Michal) Bush, Long Cane Elementary School: Jase Crenshaw, Rosemont Elementary School: Jessica McClendon, West Point Elementary School: Jessica Webb, Whitesville Road Elementary School: Heidi Jones, Callaway Middle School: Jimmy Askew, Callaway Middle School: Marie Curtis, Gardner Newman Middle School: Janet Barber, Gardner Newman Middle School: Donna

Webb, Long Cane Middle School: Stacie Hart, Long Cane Middle School: Judy Robinson, Callaway High School: Carrie Burger, Callaway High School: Brian Prather, LaGrange High School: Elliott McHugh, LaGrange High School: Alma Barrientos, The HOPE Academy: Katina Ross, THINC College & Career Academy: Dr. Sue Forrest, Troup High School: Kayla Yeargin, and Troup High School: Judson Price.

Jeremy Andrews Staff Writer